Published!

After so many years of studying and working with literature, it was only last month that I got the courage to self-publish on Amazon. So many things went wrong during this phase: formatting, editing, rewriting, restructuring, and perfecting the look for the book. Each trial and error inched closer to the finished product, and I am proud of the final result.

Thank you, all my followers on WordPress and my readers who gave me valuable feedback and encouraged me to go forward in this adventure. Those likes, those random comments, the following, they mean so much to me. Once again, thank you all.

The Book: Rehearsal Banquet

My friends and some of my beta readers have asked these questions frequently, so I’ll address it here.

Why is the title of the book Rehearsal Banquet?

A banquet is a feast for a party of guests. Banquet here symbolizes two things: the ideas in the poem and me, the author. The form and semantics of the entire book is a short serving of ideas. Every one of them gets just enough attention to make themselves felt, before the next big concept in the book. Nothing is ever punched concrete in any of the poems, since it needs more from the reader and the poems supporting it.

And for me, this is the beginning of a chapter as a writer. Rehearsal Banquet is a short introduction to my world, a welcome party for all my readers and supporters.

How is this book different from other books of poetry?

Almost all poems in Rehearsal Banquet have a story to tell in their own unique way of telling it. As I have written more short stories and flash fiction in the past few years, storytelling has made itself a big part of who I am and what I write. There are so many styles, perspectives, structures in Rehearsal Banquet that each poem is completely different from the next one. There are recurring themes in the book, but they are seen in a new way each time either in narration or form of the poem. I tried my best to not give a conclusive final answer in almost all poems, leaving it open to the reader.

How long did it take to complete the book?

From start to finish, about seven months. I remember writing A Snow Leopard’s Epitaph in April, followed it with Weeping Walrus and The Serpent and the Sea and soon I was writing one or two poems every week, which became five in my most productive weeks, and at the end, I had forty-four poems for Rehearsal Banquet.

What’s next?

I taking some time off writing anything till the first week of November. There’s a book of short stories that I am planning and have written five stories, so I’ll be probably working on that. There’s a novelette that’s finished, but I don’t know if I’ll be publishing it soon, as it looks capable of being a novella or a small novel. I always wanted to write horror, surrealism, and sci-fi, and I think that pull from the genres will eventually decide what I do in the future.

Well guys, that’s the update about the book and the latest in my life. Here on, I’ll be posting short stories and flash fiction and small excerpts from my novel alongside poetry, my random banter on philosophy and personal posts. Thank you all once again for having me in this family and the love you have given me. You guys know to keep a writer writing πŸ™‚

You can check the book here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0176XGIWW (I dunno when Amazon will update the “Look Inside” feature, will update as soon as it becomes available.)

8 thoughts on “Published!

Leave a Reply

