When Time Comes

When Time took me in her arms,

Out of mother’s womb and father’s embrace

To feed these spoonfuls of breath and sugar,

As she stole years away before my first blink

And decades before my first step.

When Time came with gifts tied with a golden thread,

Out jumped a glove from a bear trap in the box

To punch my plump face and blacken the blind eye,

As she stayed by me lecturing the past

And pinching the memories of my infancy.

And I am left hungry and discarded today

As she leaves my doorstep

To step inside another home of faith and hope.

Out of the window she covered her dead hands,

When Time knocked and they called her in.

Leave a Reply

